- The history of rugby through its competitions
Skip Navigation Links
National TeamsExpand National Teams
Tier 1 nations clubsExpand Tier 1 nations clubs
Other nations clubsExpand Other nations clubs
SevensExpand Sevens
Annual Reports
Head to Head
Last updates
The Project
Horan-Little Shield

Overview Current Season


It is an Australian domestic trophy and it is modelled off New Zealand's Ranfurly Shield.
It is based on a challenge system: the holding union must defend the shield in challenge matches and a successful challenger becomes the new holder.

It was proposed to ARU after the conclusion of 2014 National Rugby Championship by members of the supporter web site Green and Gold Rugby.
Melbourne Rising, unbeaten in 2014 regular season, were presented with the shield.

The holder is required to put it up challenge at every home fixture. It is not forced to accept challenges for away fixtures though it may choose to do so: notably, the first ever defense of the Shield was an away fixture.
In the event the holder wins two consecutive home challenges, the Shield is then automatically up for challenge for each subsequent game the holder plays, whether home or away.
The knok out finale phase matches are not valid as shield challenges.

TeamChallenge VictoryLost DefensePlayed Defenses
Melbourne Rising29/08/20152
Brisbane City29/08/201511/09/20166
UC Vikings11/09/201625/09/20162
Melbourne Rising25/09/201602/10/20161
Western Sydney Rams02/10/201608/10/20161
NSW Country Eagles08/10/201603/09/20171
Western Sydney Rams03/09/201707/10/20172
Fijian Drua07/10/201721/10/20171
Queensland Country21/10/201729/10/20171
Perth Spirit29/10/201709/09/20181
Western Force09/09/201813/10/20183
Fijian Drua13/10/201807/09/20191
Western Force07/09/201929/09/20193
NSW Country Eagles29/09/20190
TeamSuccessful ChallengesLost ChallengesSuccessful DefensesTotal Wins
Brisbane City1056
Western Force2046
Western Sydney Rams2213
Melbourne Rising1212
NSW Country Eagles2102
Canberra Vikings1112
Fijian Drua2002
Queensland Country1101
Perth Spirit1001
Sydney Rays0300
Sydney Stars0100
Greater Sydney Rams0100